The Indian Women's Team Secures Victory Over Pakistan During Debate, Confusion - plus Insect Problem

The Pakistani team Expresses Displeasure When TV Umpire Controversially Changes Dismissal Decision

World Cup Tournament, Colombo

Indian Total 247 (Complete innings): Harleen Deol 46 (65-ball innings); Diana Baig 4-69

Pakistan 159 (43 overs): Sidra Amin 81 (106 deliveries); Kranti Goud 3-20

Team India secured victory by eighty-eight runs

Team India preserved their flawless opening in the World Cup tournament with a comfortable 88-run win against arch-rivals Pakistan in Sri Lanka.

Harleen Deol top-scored scoring 46 as Richa Ghosh hammered an unbeaten 35 off 20 deliveries towards the end to propel the Indian score to 247 throughout their knock which witnessed numerous batters make starts but not continuing.

Bowler Diana Baig secured four wickets for 69 as the Pakistani attack bowled out Team India initially during women's limited overs match from the last ball of their knock but a first win continued to evade them.

Following a slide to twenty-six for three in the run chase, Pakistan briefly rallied through Sidra Amin - who proceeded to score 81 from 105 balls following being given reprieves on three occasions - along with Natalia Pervaiz compiled 69 during their fourth-wicket stand.

However India, spearheaded by Kranti Goud's 3/20, maintained their focus to bowl out the Pakistani team for 159 runs in the 43rd over and ascend to first position in the group standings.

As is so often the case during India-Pakistan encounters, nevertheless, there was far more to it, with controversy and confusion sprinkled during the encounter...

Dismissal Debate

Perhaps the biggest talking point came from a situation during the early stages of the Pakistani batting as opening batter Ali was debatably given out running.

The left-hander got hit on the pad off Goud's delivery and as the Indian bowler made an unsuccessful appeal for LBW, Deepti picked up the free ball and threw at the stumps.

She connected yet footage demonstrated Muneeba had placed the bat before the ball entered the frame and a 'safe' verdict by the TV umpire Kerrin Klaaste appeared on the large screen at the stadium.

Nonetheless, ahead of the match continuing, the decision was looked at again and it emerged that as the ball hit the stumps and knocked off the bails, the batter had elevated her equipment and remained standing outside her crease.

Even though the hitter had earlier embedded the bat and wasn't attempting to sneak a single, the match referee modified her verdict to 'out' and notwithstanding Pakistani objections, that witnessed skipper Fatima Sana instruct her player to stay at the pitch for a short time, Muneeba was compelled to depart.

In a further twist, had India simply reviewed the lbw decision, the complete debate would have been avoided since ball-tracking indicated Muneeba was plumb lbw.

What do the laws of the sport indicate?

30.1 Concerning leaving the crease

Rule 30.1.1 A hitter shall be regarded as having left their crease unless some part of the player or equipment is grounded behind the popping crease at that wicket.

Section 30.1.2 Nevertheless, a player shall not be deemed as out of their ground when, during running or diving toward their ground and past, and after placing a portion of their body or bat over the line, there is subsequent loss of connection between the ground and any part of their body or bat, or between equipment and player.

'Tails... heads is the call'

Confusion as Pakistan incorrectly awarded flip against India

It should have been apparent that events would not become simple in this match starting with the coin flip.

Amid a context of governmental disputes involving both countries, that skippers Sana and Harmanpreet declined to shake hands came as no surprise - especially given the established pattern in recent games between the men's sides.

However, none could have anticipated that Sana would call incorrectly and still secure the toss.

The Pakistan skipper shouted "tails" as Harmanpreet flicked the coin but match referee Fritz misunderstood and stated "heads chosen".

Presenter and former cricketer Jones was managing the toss and reiterated the official's announcement, the coin landed on heads and there was declaration that Pakistan secured the coin toss.

No skipper challenged it so Sana was able to come forward and affirm that Pakistan would field first.

An innocent mistake and considering India's victory anyway, no damage caused.

Insects halt match

'Who to summon?' - 'Pest controller' comes as bugs interrupt match

Amidst {the toss confusion|the coin flip confusion|the toss

William Lee
William Lee

A forward-thinking business strategist with over a decade of experience in market analysis and digital transformation, passionate about empowering entrepreneurs.